Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of it and how can the problem be managed?

Inspite of the betterment in medical field, the overall level of obesity in children in most of the nations is increasing. This essay will explain the causes of it and provide some solutions to avoid them.

At the outset, it is an undenaible fact that youngsters with obesity are at risk of developing more than 200 problems such as cancers, asthma, hypertension and high cholesterol. The major reason of this is the provision of different sources of entertainment indoors that leads to lack of physical activity. For instance, young ones these days once back from their school prefer spending their time on video games, YouTube, Xbox etc with their friends rather than going out for basketball or cycling. Another reason is poor dietary habits. With increasing availability and affordability of junk and fast food in bulk there is an easy access of chips, fries, unhealthy and sugary foods, many teenagers consume high-calorie and low-nutrient diets.

However, these causes can be avoided, by adopting certain measures. The main step which can be taken is inclusion of more physical games and movement in school. Hosting competitions and camps can be useful. Additionally, promoting regular exercise through mandatary sports program can be done. Secondly, public awareness campaigns should be held to educate parents about importance of healthy eating and active lifestyle in growing individuals. Authorities should regulate advertising of unhealthy food products especially those aimed at minors.

To reitreate, obesity in younger generation is caused by a combination of unhealthy diets, poor lifestyle and lack of awareness. Joint efforts from the government, schools and parents for a healthy plan of action and its implementation can be fruitful.