Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

Child obesity is becoming a serious public health challenge in many nations. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and suggest some possible solutions to the problem.

There are a number of reasons for the rising levels of childhood obesity. The first reason is unhealthy eating habits. Children nowadays tend to consume too much fast food, candy and sugary drinks. These foods can cause kids to gain weight quickly as they are very high in fat and sugars but low in vitamins and minerals. Another reason is sedentary lifestyles. Children tend to watch a TV, browse the Internet or play computer games instead of playing outside or doing sport. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese.

There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, it is important for parents to control what their children eat to make sure that they have a healthy diet. Parents should also educate them about detrimental effects of an imbalanced diet so that they can make more healthy food choices. Secondly, unhealthy junk food advertising should be limited. Finally, it is necessary for parents to restrict the time their children spend on sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise. Physical activity and exercise would help them control their weight by burning excess calories that otherwise would be stored as fat.

In conclusion, there are various factor leading to the increase in child obesity and measures should be implemented to tackle this issue.