Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

In today’s world childhood obesity is one of the most pressing problems. There are many reasons for this issue and many effects have been associated with it. However, I believe that several steps could be followed to improve this situation.

There are two main factors that are contributed to children obesity. One is bad eating habits: eating junk foods like MacDonald’s and drinking sugary soft drinks. Another possible factor could be that children nowadays tend to have a sedentary lifestyle, they play computer games, chat on the internet rather than doing sport or playing outside.

As a consequence, of these factors, children these days are becoming obese. They are overweight, unhealthy and unfit to play or to do any physical exercise. Another devastating effect is that, the higher risk of heart diseases, diabetes and cancer. These diseases put a strain on hospitals and they are going to be a heavy burden in the future.

On the other hand, I think there are several measurements can be done by parents, governments and schools. Firstly, giving children healthy food, control what they eat and ensure that they have a healthy diet. For example, the diet that includes more vegetables and less fat contents. Secondly, governments can limit junk food advertisements or prohibit those which are directed to children. Finally, restrict the time they spend on computer and video games, and encourage them to do regular exercise.

In conclusion, it is true that obesity among children with its negative impacts, is growing at an alarming rate but it seems to me that there are many solutions to tackle this problem.