Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main causes of this problem, and suggest some possible solutions.

Excess weight in children, an increasingly alarming issue, is rising at a critical rate across nations worldwide. This unwanted condition is caused by various reasons, which have negatively impacted their lives, leading to serious health issues. This essay believes that the main reason associated with childhood obesity is the lack of control by the parents and government over the condition and suggests that properly implementing regulations can help to address it.

One of the principal factors causing obesity among children at an early age is the excessive consumption of junk food and sugary drinks. By eating fast foods such as hamburgers, chips etc., they are gaining excess weight. Not only are they consuming unhealthy foods, but they are also not participating in proper physical activity, which is leading to fatness. For instance, children are more inclined to play computer games rather than engage in outdoor sports. Moreover, parents are less concerned about their children’s diets, unintentionally encouraging unhealthy eating habits.

The effects are severe, children are overweight, unhealthy and unfit, which are often associated with a high risk of diseases. For example, early diabetes, heart disease and often cancer are some of the fatal effects of obesity. Eventually, this situation will put strain on the hospitals. Another outcome is adult obesity, overweight children are more likely to become obese adults, continuing the cycle of health risks.

Solution to this worrying problem is the proper awareness among parents. By controlling what children eat and ensuring a balanced diet, they can constrain children from eating junk foods. Moreover, government should impose regulations on fast food advertisement, securing an environment for the children free from noxious foods.