children are exposed to a lot of violence through TV shows and video games. What are the causes, and what measures can be taken to adress this issue?

In the modern world, many kids are facing a large amount of aggressive media in televisions and videogames in their daily lives. There are several triggers for this problem: a lack of parental supervision as well as profit-driven content. However, there are several measures in terms of parental control and regulation of content that could mitigate the situation.

There are numerous causes of this issue, namely, parental neglect and profit-driven content. This means that most guardians are unaware of their children content consumption, allowing access to inappropriate stuff at social network. As a result, youngsters might watch adult-rated shows without their parent’s permission. In addition, violent games and TV shows are often popular and profitable, leading producers to create even more such content. For example, action-packed games such as “Call of Duty” are famous among players worldwide.

On the other hand, there are several actions that could be taken by governments and foster parents to resolve the problem described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be by parent to monitor children’s devices as well as set restrictions and timers. A successful example of this, are applications such as “Family Link” which allows to set parental monitoring software to filter aggressive media. Secondly, regulation of content by governments and social media administrators. For instance, setting age-ratings and banning adult videos.

To conclude, disregarding the evident reasons, a variety of measures could be taken to coop with the issue of aggressive media exposure on juveniles.