Companies invest millions of dollars in advertising to persuade consumers to buy their products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages for the consumer?

In recent years, there is an increasing number of producers who spend millions of dollars on advertising to encourage customers to buy their products. Although there are some minor benefits, the overall drawbacks clearly indicate that the negative side is stronger.

On the one hand, there can be some minor advantages for purchasers in that if company expenditure a great funding at advertisement, this means that they would create a number of products to satisfy the demand of consumers with an affordable prices. And thus, thanks to the mass production of that companies, customers can benefit from more variety and cheaper goods.

Nevertheless, one of the most significant drawbacks of this trend is that it can have a detrimental impact on the rights of consumers. The most obvious issue could be that bad advetisement can lead buyers to consume a number of unhealthy products and affect their health. For instance, the appearance of ads of low quality items in social platforms such as TikTok, Facebook, and Instagram can create a sense of FOMO ( fear of missing out ), which can make unawareness customer, such as the elderly, spend a large amount of money on those products and can pose a threat to their mental well-being. However, these problems can be solved if consumers become more aware and the government regulates advertisements more strictly.

In conclusion, despite some potential benefits, the negative impact of this problem on customers is too great to ignore. To handle it, I suppose that the government should not only make laws to control the ads but also educate people to become more careful about it.