Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education

Nowadays promoting competition has become a common phenomena among all educational institutions. Other than educational institutions, other supportive organization has also focused on arranging different kinds of competitions rather than motivating learning through collaboration. As the prompt has stated that if the students solely focused on getting higher grades by competing with each other, this would greatly prevent the students from getting quality learning through their insTtions. I mostly agree with the statement for two reasons, however I do concede that competition can be also a positive factor for quality learning.

First of all, competiton harms the quality of learning because it makes students to focus only their required subjects rather than acquiring knowledge from diversified sources. For instance, a student who is persuing business degree, he or she could not choose to study other subjects such as psychology, law or physiological courses. Thus, the competition hinders student to gain vast knowledge since they solely considering doing good in their selective subjects.

Furthermore, the competition obstructs the learning environment because it makes students to become self-centric and unwilling to help others. For example, the student who is targeting get a good result and beats all other students in the classs, he or she will not be interested to share his or her notes on lectures to others as they could do better than him or her. This grows a ill-mentality among the students which ultimately deprives them from getting the best rip of the education.

However, completely abandoning competion from all level of education can be a demotivating factor for the learning because no one will have the reasons to study since they would not have any benefits from them. Sometimes competition encourages the students to study more for the recognition from the institutions. For example, if a student becomes first in the class in a partiular semester, this will force him or her to study well for the next semester. In this sense, competition could be a beneficial factor for the students.

To conclude, in some cases competition can be a good factor for mproving the quality of learning, however it’s negative impacts on the learning exceed the advantages.