Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In many societies, competitiveness is considered as a crucial characteristic. This essay will discuss how this can affect individuals and the drawbacks it may have.

Being competitive empowers individuals to be more productive in their work. This is because when people have stress, and other things that drive them, it makes them more focused and determined on their work, so they can finish their responsibilities effectively and efficiently. For instance, in an office environment, workers and workers compete with each other to gain high trophies or feats to create an impression on their managers and senior workers . As a result, they can maximize their productivity and do their jobs well, thereby allowing them to get a high promotion.

However, being competitive may pose some problems, especially in an office environment. When workers are too competitive, they can do anything to gain their target despite the fact that they can harm their co-workers. For example, workers can speak ill about their colleagues to their manager so that they can get the benefits. In addition, if workers spend most of their time on company assignments, they will not have enough time for their family and relaxation. Consequently, it can create a harmful work environment, and workers can become stressed, exhausted and depressed, therefore, the company can not gain its maximum productivity, leading to a bad output.

In conclusion, being competitive can sometimes help workers maximize their strength and get a better promotion. Nevertheless, in some cases, it can harm both workers and companies productivity.