Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, competitiveness is considered an important quality for people in many societies. In this essay I will discuss its effects on individuals, and I believe it is a positive trend.

Firstly, competitiveness motivates people to work harder to become better than they used to be, finding their weak points and trying to improve areas they are not good at. For example, if people are not good at multiplication tables, they should first focus on the simplest ones, by regular practicing they could gradually be in progress. As a result, they become more confident and successful and this process teaches them discipline and helps them develop problem-solving skills.

However, competitiveness can also have some negative effects on people. It often creates stress and pressure because people feel that they always should be in the first place. This can negatively affect their mental health and reduce their overall happiness. In addition, it may lead to unhealthy comparisons, where individuals lose their confidence when they see others achieving better results. So it also can be the problem because sometimes competitiveness can damage relationships and make people less cooperative.

All in all, I believe that competitiveness is a positive trend because by comparing people it motivates them to improve and achieve their goals, despite some negative effects.