Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

One of the most promising contributions to our interminably changing world is competitiveness. Fighting against each other appears to be a common phenomenon among people from many different societies. As far as I am concerned, a competitive environment brings humans both advantages and disadvantages.

Humans are naturally born with this trait. Once competitions are held, people sense that they must surpass something, especially taking the goal away from others. That is when eagerness is pushed up. People would be more dedicated to working harder to accomplish the goal and exceed others in the race. For instance, in a workplace environment, employees strive to work hard and get extra time which means they also show their dedication and eagerness with the job because they hanker for being recognised and superior to their peers. Additionally, the essence of competitiveness helps individuals get promotions and have their personal growth that can be proud of. Competing against one another forces people to pin down what exactly they are longing for, classify their plans clearly, and make a bunch of moves. For example, students usually get jealous of their opponents who stole their desirable position in classes or schools and will be sure to make a comeback. Such a self-promise gradually becomes an engagement for discipline, perseverance, and hard work to exceed their enemies.

On the other hand, competitiveness jeopardizes individuals’ lives if people fail to comprehend and utilize it properly. Hatred and negative affections can rise in a competitive setting. Some people tend to be selfish and cast a detest on other achievements rather than turn it into a motivation to ameliorate the case. Furthermore, competitiveness could also be regarded as relating to criminal actions as people could sacrifice everything to fulfill their longs. To illustrate, some diabolical individuals would draw cheated and dirty plans to confront their opponents such as cheating on exams by buying the official tests or doing harm to others’ mental and physical health to get to their materialistically inclined destinations.

To sum up, competition is a great way for everyone in every society to grow up, to be closer to success, and strive to live our best lives by passion and dreams. However, people should be aware of its dark sides and shun away from it as much as possible to have good results and get aims accomplished that can be flaunted with pride.