Competitiveness is considered a good quality in most societies nowadays. How does it affect individuals? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

A norm of one society may not seem as normal to the other. This applies to competitiveness as well. A community may perceive being competitive as crucial whilst another may think it excess and damaging. It is a key trait but easy to go wrong with it.

Competitiveness is a good quality as it forces you to step up in your game and be your best possible version. It motivates you to work more efficiently and productively in order to achieve your goals. A competitive person would set a goal and make a smart plan that will make the process of landing on your target easy. An ambitious, dedicated and passionate person can be defined as competitive.

However it mustn’t be forgotten that if not careful, the person can turn out to be someone who is disliked by their friends and most importantly can get overwhelmed as a result of over-working themselves. If you can not enjoy yourself while doing something that you used to bring you joy, that is when you should understand that you are excessively competitive to the point where it affects your daily life.

As in everything, keeping the balance is necessary when it comes to the extent of being competitive. If you can not adjust its degree, you can tire yourself and it instantly switches to a bad quality from a good one. Becoming more passionate towards a certain something is a very positive development but is easy for it to be a negative if not careful.