Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some artists believe they should be granted the freedom to express their thoughts through art, in any way they wish without higher authority stepping in. In this essay, I will disagree with this statement. Firstly I will discuss the negative effect this could have on others’ well-being and self-worth. Secondly, I will discuss how this could influence children’s behaviour negatively.

There are many ways where an artist could display their work. However, reflecting to the media many acts of protest had taken place as a form of art. That involved the topic of politics, animal rights and so on. If artists could pour paint on themselves, whilst trying to put light on a good cause creating a mess that could damage the ecosystem or it could make someone’s job harder by making them clean. In addition, many artists are making a human chain in the middle of a busy street that attracts attention In addition, stop the road and dallying people from the place they need to be (jobs or picking up their children from school) just to get their opinions across.

Many people feel that the internet is an unsafe place, especially for children. Nowadays it is hard to monitor and control what children are doing on the internet. So when they come across content where opinions are displayed in a misleading method they are too young to differentiate between right and wrong.

In conclusion, I believe art is a unique way of expressing your feelings, but not your opinion.