Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

People today do not feel safe when going out due to their fear of crime. Although completing eradicating criminal actions is imposible, I believe that many measures can be done to solve this problem.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why individuals lack confidence in criminal deterrent . First of all, in order to eliminate crime from its root , we have to address fundamental social factors including poverty, unemployment and the lack of quality education, which primarily leads people to a life of crime. These issues are sophiticated and need the engagement of multiple sectors , therefore, fulfillment of crime prevention is hard to achieve in the short term. Another reason is budget constraints. Since the today world is facing more immediate concerns such as pollution,natural disasters,etc, the government often prioritize large amount of money to such issues, leaving little sources for crime-solving efforts. As the result, the local authorities and police have difficulty in purchasing specialized equipment like DNA analyst and maintain long term criminal investigation, leading inaccurate decision-making and uncontrol of offenders

On the other hand, practical solutions can be implemented to deter criminality. Firstly, the introduction of stricter sets of law is the most effective way to bring down crime rates. For minor crimes, they have to be sent to reform schools or pay more fine for doing their criminal behaviors whereas serious crime should be subjected to imprisonment, even capital punishment based on the severity of the act. By showing up the consequences of unlawful actions, the government can deter potential offenders and improve social security as the offenders are behind bars. Secondly, education about crime has been emphasized as many schools often do workshop providing knowledge of laws and harsh punishment a person commiting a crime may have , which aid their students in preventing juvenile delinquency and having better preparation in situations involving them in crime or becoming a victim. Lastly, cutting-edge devices such as surveillance cameras, biometric analyst,etc, have made eaier and quicker to identify elligal behaviors, directly protecting residents’ security.

In conclusion, combat crime may be a challenging mission, I believe that stricter law, with more crime-focused education and modern technology, we have laid a solid foundation of addressing criminal activities.