Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

People today feel unsafe when going out due to their fear of crime. Although completely eradicating criminal actions is impossible, I believe that there are many measures we can take to solve this problem.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why individuals lack confidence in the effectiveness of crime deterrence. First of all, in order to eliminate crime from its root, we must address fundamental social factors including poverty, unemployment and the lack of quality education, which primarily lead people to a life of crime. These issues are sophisticated and require the engagement of multiple sectors, making fulfillment of crime prevention efforts difficult to achieve in the short term. Another reason is budget constraints. Since the modern world is facing more immediate concerns such as pollution, natural disasters, etc, the government often prioritizes large amounts of money to such issues, leaving little resources for crime-solving initiatives. As a result, the local authorities and police have difficulty in acquiring specialized equipments like DNA analysis tools and maintaining long-term criminal investigations, leading inaccurate decision-making and the lack of control over offenders.

On the other hand, practical solutions can be implemented to deter criminality. Firstly, the introduction of stricter sets of laws is the most effective way to bring down crime rates. For minor crimes, they should be sent to reform schools or required to pay more fines for their criminal behaviors while serious crime should carry harsher penalties such as imprisonment or even capital punishment based on the severity of the act. By clearly establishing the consequences of unlawful actions, the government can deter potential offenders and enhance social security by keeping dangerous offenders behind bars. Secondly, education about crime has been emphasized as many schools often offer workshops to provide their students knowledge of laws and severe punishments a person committing a crime may face, which aids them in preventing juvenile delinquency and having better preparation in situations where they may become involved in crimes, either as offenders or victims. Lastly, cutting-edge technology such as surveillance cameras, biometric analysis ,etc, makes it easier and quicker to identify illegal behaviors, directly protecting residents’ security.

In conclusion, combating crime may be a challenging mission, I believe that with stricter laws, more crime-focused education and modern technology, we have laid a solid foundation for addressing criminal activities.