Cyberbullying is increasingly common among teenagers. What are the causes and solutions?

In recent years, social media has become more common, due to this cyberbullying around adolescents increasing. Cyberbullying creates mental health issues such as depression, loss of confidence and thoughts about suicide. This essay will examine problems and propose solutions.

One major problem caused by cyberbullying is mental health issues. There are many anonymous and pessimistic people who scroll videos and write negative comments for young people. Also there is a lot of harmful online content in social media. Nowadays, many teenagers are more sensitive to negative comments and harmful online content, which can adversely affect their mental health. As a result, they get loss of confidence and depression which impact to suicidal thoughts. For example, in USA 15% of adolescents committed suicide because of cyberbullying. In addition, in Ukraine 10% of young people become depressed due to harmful videos on social media.

There are several solutions to alleviate these problems. First, help teenagers who have already encountered this. Parents should pay them psychologists to restore their mental health. Additionally schools need to pay psychologists for students to get alumnus with well-being mental health. Second, the government should increase social media safety. They can do it by improving moderation and removing harmful comments and content more quickly. For instance, 40% of young people in Russia restore their mental health after cyberbullying, thanks to visits to psychologists. Also, in Kazakhstan 55% of teenagers start to develop their social media safety, and it helps them stay with healthy mental wellness.

To sum up, cyberbullying creates a lot of mental health issues, but psychologists and developing safety help them to stay mentally healthy. I believe that this problem will be tackled in the future.