Cycling is healthier and better for the environment than other forms of transport, but in many places it is unpopular, What are the advantages and disadvantages of cycling?

In the contemporary era, the environment has been at the forefront of the public’s attention. Although cycling is considered as an eco-friendly activity, its daily utility is still limited. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of cycling.

It is understandable why riding a bicycle is uncommon in some parts of the world. First, depending on geographical locations, bicycles are considered as an incompetent transportation. Such a drawback can be especially detrimental to inhabitants in hilly areas, where a number of rough roads exist. Riding on this kind of terrain is difficult since it might easily be the precursor to unfortunate accidents. As cycling is a cardio exercise requiring intense practice, not everyone can suffer from the muscle aches afterward. Besides, biking for long distances may result in exhaustion, so cycling is typically unattractive to ordinary people on a daily basis.

Despite the aforementioned disadvantages, the benefits of cycling are indisputable/undoubted, especially in terms of health and environment. The first merit is its ability to build up leg muscles and reduce cholesterol. Thanks to predominantly leg movement, riding on a bicycle is an effective way to get a durable physical health and agile legs. Moreover, the environmental benefits of cycling are undeniable. Due to the fact that commuting by bicycle reduces the carbon emissions considerably, preventing air pollution, the ozone layer has been restoring gradually.

In conclusion, cycling brings the benefits of physical health and decreasing greenhouse gases, however it also comes with the drawbacks of difficulties in commuting and causing exhaustion. From my perspective, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.