Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

In the whole world, consumption of food is skyrocketing every day. This essay will delve into the possible causes, such as increasing population and poor conditions of farmers, as well as the solutions for international society to tackle this problem.

The prime cause of increasing demand for food is significant growth in the global population and less land available for growing vegetables and fruits. This is because the rise in population is the main reason behind the expansion of cities, eventually decreasing the area for farming. For instance, New Delhi, the capital of India, was surrounded by farming acres, but in the last few years, with the incline in population, the city has expanded gradually. To tackle this issue, governments should impose stricter laws and raise awareness about having only one or two children. For instance, in the early 2000s, this rule was introduced by the Chinese government, and they succeeded in controlling their population.

The second reason for this problem is the poor condition of farmers because of the less profit they receive from their crops due to the high cost of equipment and fertilizers, consequently forcing them to quit farming. Therefore, farmers are leaving their profession owing to the struggles they face because of a lack of money. To resolve this problem, authorities should introduce proper subsidies for farmers, and local people should purchase vegetables and fruits directly from farmers without any middlemen. This will eventually increase their revenue, and they will be paid for their hard work.

In conclusion, increasing demand for food is a huge problem for communities because of the increasing population and less profit for farmers. Lawmakers should introduce stricter laws for population control and give subsidies to farmers so that they can receive a normal wage for their survival.