Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

In recent years, global demand for food resources has grown to the point that the supply is no longer sufficient. In this essay, I will mention the causes of this circumstance and what international organizations can do to mitigate harmful consequences.

Amongst the reasons that cause the supply of food to be insufficient, the constantly increasing world population is the most obvious one. Global statistics about the population show that in the past few years, the population has boomed and is currently at its highest in history. Moreover, more and more cases of crop failure around the world due to climate change mean that food production is falling sharply. For example, Brazil, in 2023, saw a countrywide crop failure due to natural hazards. In some developed countries, people are trying to make their meals more appealing and luxurious. Consequently, most of the ingredients in those dishes are wasted, and the numbers for annual food waste are rising.

Nevertheless, to mitigate these problems, governments around the world can pass laws that limit birth rates. By doing this, the population can be reduced to a point that is beneficial for sustainability. Similarly, governments can also subsidize agricultural production and give grants to research teams for enhancing the resilience of crops. To reduce the amount of food waste, the international community can raise public awareness of how crucial the conservation of food resources is.

In conclusion, governments should step in to ensure that the food supply is sufficient to meet the growing demand.