Despite advances in medicine, mental health problems are becoming more common amongst young people. What are the causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to solve it?

Recent years have seen a rise in mental health issues among youth, despite medical advances. One of the causes is electronic device addiction, leading to sedentary lifestyles and lack of physical activity, which can cause anxiety and depression. Moreover, the fast-paced, always-connected world also fosters fear of missing out, increasing stress. Promoting offline activities, access to sports, and a slower living culture can help mitigate these problems

Most youth representatives are glued to screens all day long. That is why they do not have a chance to be physically active and belong to the moment. This results in lower endorphin production, which affects mood in a negative way.. Schools and governmental organizations might organize sports events, clubs, and workshops that motivate youths to spend more time away from screens and foster a sense of belonging to real life. Moreover, campaigns promoting healthy habits, such as regular cycling (as seen in Scandinavian countries), can also boost mental well-being through endorphin release.

Furthermore, living in a rapidly changing society, where the pressure to stay productive and informed about everything is constant, often causes feelings of fear of missing out, heightening stress and anxiety among youth.

Incorporating mindfulness and stress management into school curricula can help students develop coping strategies for modern pressures. Moreover, it might be beneficial to shift the focus of young people on the joys of everyday life rather than on the idea to overload themselves with a large amount of studies and other things in order to keep up with the Joneses

To sum up, mental health issues of young people caused by excessive screen time, little physical activity and pressure of our fast – paced world could be addressed in several ways. Encouraging physical activity through organized sports and community events can help improve mood and reduce stress of the youth. Additionally, young people should be taught essential skills to deal with pressures of modern society. Living in environments that prioritize mental well-being and real-life connections is essential and gives a chance to see a mentally healthy generation in the future