Despite living in urban environments, people are more isolated than ever before. Outline the reasons for this situation.

It is acknowledged that living in developed town should be vibrant, however many people are solitary. In my opinion, there are two primary reasons for this condition.

To begin with, people in the city focus on their job, so they do not have sufficient time to mingle with others. They are working for long hours, from nine to five almost every day. Sometimes, during the weekend they are occupied with additional works either from their office or side job in order to get additional income. Meanwhile, during working hours most humankind working independently even when they are part of a team because they might have different job desk or amount of targets. Take for instance, the marketers who are working for a bank. They usually work as a team, however each of them has different amount of monthly target. Subsequently, they need to think their own approach to achieve personal target.

Furthermore, it is evident that in the city, people are more educated and literated about technology, so they do more screen time instead of socializing. It is a normal to see city residents accessing their smartphone during their leisure time because it is pleased them a lot. In addition, during the holidays, people in the city prefer to practice sedentary life style instead of doing outside activities. Consequently, the time to interact with the people surrounding is limited, so they keep isolated in terms of social life. Take for example, white-collar workers usually play video games during the weekend, so they have least opportunity to meet people face to face.

To sum up, living in urban neighborhood is not a guarantee that people have vibrant life. They might be feeling isolated because of employment and their life style which is confined their opportunity to socialize with other people.