Detailed reporting of crime has bad effects. Consequently, such details should not be reported in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals think that details of crime rates should not report by media. I completely disagree with this view, because this could have negative consequences for society. Firstly, I will discuss how the importance people’s trust to mass media, and secondly how it may improve potential crimes in the world.

Although, in the modern world people can access any information from the internet easily, but most people believe news which is representing in media. This is because, they have reliable sources. If the media could not report detail of crimes, it will affect their status. Moreover, people must know the average crimes in their surrondings. However, when they do not know there are a lot of crimes such as pickpocketing or manslaughter, they will never take it seriously. Media has a great impact people’s daily life, it has a power to control individuals. Everyone should know potential threats, as a result they would become more careful in their daily life. For example, Mexico is one of the country with high rates crimes, but the citizens know they could face these dangerous situations every day, this is resulted parents give more attention to their children and protect their children’s safety carefully.

Secondly, it might be increase crimes rates in the world. When prisoners showed in the media, people afraid of police and other government’s laws. They avoid such a dangerous situation, in contrast if they do not see criminals in the media they would think police cannot find them, as a result this encourages other potential criminals. Media should improve awareness among people, this is only way to show people what is a result of burglary, to kill someone and other crimes. Unfortunately, everybody does not know certain laws which supported by government, if they starts to watch them in TV it may improve their general knowledge about crimes and its results. For instance, there are a lot of TV programmes which give information about crimes and their punishes and this decreases potential crimes in a country.

To sum up, media should all detailed information about crimes to public. This strengthen public’s trust to media and reduces future crimes in the society.