Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

It is true that in this contemporary society, differences between nations gradually decrease each year as people worldwide watch the same advertisement and TV channels, eat the same food, and consume the products from the same brands. This essay will argue that the advantages of this phenomenon are eclipsed by the disadvantages involved.

It is undeniable that such international integration can be advantageous to a certain extent. Concerning the first positive influence, local food could be promoted to the global since all the world shares the same media. Meaning that one country can introduce their own culture to others, this will encourage and attract more international travelers. As a result, the tourism rate will increase, contributing to overall economic growth. Another benefit is that cultural diversity provides a nation with the opportunity to absorb modern knowledge. For instance, through international interaction, Vietnam can learn the technology of car production from Germany.

The drawbacks brought about by cultural combination, nevertheless, could far outweigh the aforementioned benefits, including local news removal and cultural identities lost . Regarding the former downside, civilians will not be able to concentrate on the stories happening in the local area. The reason for this is TV channels report news around the world, thus the national government may have to filter the local news. The second issue is losing cultural identities, as people learn about foreign habits and degrade their own. For example, because of watching South Korea media, a lot of teenagers attempt to change the way they live and follow the Korean lifestyle.

In conclusion, sharing the same media can offer several upsides in some situations, regarding economic boost and the chance to improve technology. However, this development can produce some negative impacts which are of greater significance, namely news filtration and cultural replacement.