Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

In modern times, global citizens connect through a number of media aspects and habits, which consequently blur the distinction between nations as time goes by. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of these fashions before concluding that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, over-adaptation and assimilation could result in a lack of distinction for a country. Embracing differences should be supported; however, it should not be overly praised when the foreign learned culture dominates over traditions. In terms of independence, this could subsequently lead to a diminished appreciation for national identity and individuality. An example of this is a preference to communicate in English regardless of ethnicity and surroundings in Vietnam, thus, youngsters tend to look down on their native culture and would usually become secretive about their origin.

On the other hand, interconnectedness widens our cultural and intellectual horizons. It is undoubtedly true that the world would be a miserable place if the existence of advertising and means of news transmission had never been started. People could comprehend life generally by acknowledging various cultures, religions, and studies that are practiced around the world, which would be beneficial for the growth of citizens personally and cultures internationally. For instance, an increasing number of pupils are now choosing to study abroad after being inspired by the exciting experiences of seniors overseas.

In conclusion, the act of coming together through media and habits could result in assimilation and reduced national pride. However, interconnectedness could broaden the minds of many parts of the world culturally and intellectually, which would foster not only individuals’ growth but also the overall development of the world as a whole.