Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

In today’s open world, the unique characteristics of each country are disappearing frequently because of the oversharing that people do in fashion, food, and habits. In my opinion, if the differences between nations become less, it will be a positive step toward huge development in developing countries. However, there are many consequences that should be considered.

To begin with, the disadvantages of removing boundaries among cultures are that, in some cases, it would cause a dangerous effect on some people, such as a clash in religious beliefs; some cultural groups may feel that others have specific treatment; and societies might start to lose their identities. For example, in Turkey, some individuals have forgotten their religious aspects and principles because of globalization, so foreign learning has been adopted there. Therefore, opening up to the world may not be beneficial in terms of culture and religion.

In contrast, the advantages of reducing differences between countries have become essential requirements nowadays. First of all, communication between humans who live in different nations has an important impact on learning, such as studying a foreign language, gaining valuable knowledge in certain fields, and helping people to travel around the world. Secondly, TV channels, social media, and advertisements are considered tools that people use to learn more about global news. Lastly, the financial status of governments sometimes relies on exporting and importing goods, using online shopping, for example. Thus, the attention paid to building connections among nations does not always have a negative result.

To conclude, I believe that globalization has both bad and good sides, but it depends on how individuals will use it. Governments should spread awareness of the importance of identity and prevent the culture from being lost.