Discuss if a competitiveness in school is good or not

Some parents perceive that that the education system has become too competitive. What are the negative downsides to this? And does this help students strive for success? In my opinion, the disadvantages it can have much outweigh its potential benefits.

A major advantage to a competitive learning condition is the positive inspiration it can provide to students. Through the use of examinations and scoring systems, this provides teachers with a measurement of a student’s performance, and have understandably become a point of importance for many pupils and parents. Although this may put pressure on children, this encourages them to study hard and focus in class. Furthermore, this creates a conducive learning environment, where everyone aims to do their best, and high achievers can become role models. Even as adults, we all have people we look up to and these students can help push others to be better learners. Nevertheless, scores and academic achievement have become an obsession for many students and this is now common in certain cultures. Since schoolwork becomes a school’s main focus, the importance of extracurricular activities can end up being ignored. It is important to develop well-rounded individuals, and extracurriculars can help them explore and find interests outside of class. Moreover, another downfall is its effect on self esteem. Creating a trend where tests scores are consistently compared can create frustration and feelings that they are not enough. Instead, we should aim to build confidence and help them realise the different talents and skill sets they may possess.

In conclusion, the competitive learning in many schools nowadays have created certain benefits like positive motivation to study hard. However, in my opinion, the downsides, such as decrease in self confidence and on activities outside the academic curriculum, are much more important.