Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

People have different perspectives on whether developments in technology are facilitating crime detection or tend to make crimes more detectable for people. I adhere to the view that advancements in technologies are making it more possible to be aware of a crime.

There are several reasons why technological development facilitates crime detection. First of all, due to numerous CCTV cameras, police officers, and crime prevention systems, it has became more possible to identify delinquent people. For instance, intercepting crimes on time may inhibit some detrimental consequences, such as burglary, internet fraud, and minor incidents of violence. Another reason why they are advantageous is that constant surveillance diminishes crime rates, as it scares crime committers. As an example, trackers that are established on crime committers’ phones, may provide police officers with all essential data, which can play a vital role in their arrest.

On the other hand, the police officers are not only the ones who benefit from technological developments, as crime committers make use of it as well. Firstly, it is making people’s life more vulnerable, as they have access to various devices, the usage of which can lead to some disruptive consequences. For example, bank robberies, terrorist attacks, and cyber attacks may impact government and people’s budgets significantly. Furthermore, with the assistance of modern technologies it became more convenient to create fake ID cards, which can assist criminals to appeal with fake identification. For instance, there have been cases where criminal organizations took advantage of this and deceived people with fake ID cards.

To conclude, contemporary technologies can be crucial in crime committers’ arrest, whereas I believe that technologies are not capable of identifying physical appearance, which can entail more crimes.