Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

The rapid growth of technology can be both a blessing or a catastrophe. Some people believe that technology can make crime investigation better, but some also believe that it opens more chances for people to be a victim of crime. Both views have their pros and cons, thus this essay will delve into the rationale behind.

The rationale behind the first statement is that the use of technology can assist humans to detect things that are impossible to be learned using just humans’ senses. For example, in investigating a murder, the use of GPS is crucial to detect the location of the suspect prior, during, and after the incident. Moreover, it can also be used to identify DNA that can determine the perpetrator of the case. Therefore, the advancement of technology is very beneficial to help people solve a crime that has happened.

In contrast, technology can be a risk factor for the crime itself. In recent years, technology has changed how humans interact with each other, especially in cyberspace. People can interact with different identities even exposing one’s confidential information. Such as, when a perpetrator went on social media and managed to obtain crucial data such as family members, address, and bank accounts which they used to perform fraud. Thus, technology itself can be an open door for crime to happen.

In conclusion, technology is a double edged sword. On one hand it can bring positive influence, but on the other hand it leads to consequences. In this case, technology brings benefits when in the curative stage of a crime. However, it has an adverse impact in the preventive stage. Therefore, in navigating technology, people need to be extremely careful and aware so that we can maximize the good and minimize the risk it brings.