Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

The various technologies are evolving day by day, and they can be helpful for identifying crime, but in a similar way, they provide a platform for criminals to commit fraud. In my opinion, using different technologies, it is easy to track crime spots as well as criminals.

Technologies such as the internet, CCTV cameras, computers, and data tools used for tracking down criminal activities play a key role for government agencies that control crime in the country. Firstly, each and every network connection works on an IP address that can be easily traced and provides information about the location of its usage. Nowadays, CCTV cameras are everywhere—on streetlights, shops, town squares, tourism spots, monuments, and so on. These cameras play a key role in recording events such as the type of crime, the place of the crime, the time of the crime, and in identifying criminals’ clothes and sometimes faces, too. Furthermore, data tools help crime branches to shortlist the number and type of suspects for the crime.

On the other hand, the misuse of social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, and others is most common among criminals who gather personal information about people. People are eager to upload their social activities on online platforms to enhance their social status, which can be dangerous because it reveals information. Criminals have found many ways to perform crimes, such as calling illiterate people and older people and making them share their personal information, such as bank account details and one-time passwords (OTPs), to earn money fraudulently.

In conclusion, with evolving technology, it is easy to detect and identify crime, criminal intentions, and maintain criminal records. However, technology also generates avenues for crime, which the government should control.