More people get news online than via TV or newspapers. Is this positive or negative development?

Due to the increasing influence from the use of the internet, the majority of people have shifted from reading newspaper to reading news from online platforms. While some people think that there are drawbacks from reading news through the internet as it can lead to more fake news. However, this essay contends that this trend will contribute to positive developments.

First of all, internet platforms are more convenient and faster than traditional newspapers. This allows people to receive up-to-date information that they can react immediately. For instance, when there are natural disasters occuring, people will have more time to prepare in nowadays. This is because they received the warning immediately from social media platforms. Before these platforms are being widely used as today, people will have to depend on live news or sirens which are slower to respond to hazardous situations. As a result, it increases the higher possibilities of the survival rates since humans can respond actively to unexpected situations.

While there have been more people using online platforms to read news, the use of newspapers has experienced a significant decline. Hence, the reduction of newspapers’ demand can contribute benefits to the environment, as deforestation will be decreased. For example, the production of newspapers required an enormous number of papers in the past. This is due to the fact that there is not only news to be published to the public daily but also various media agencies. Therefore, as there are few newspapers in nowadays, this results in positive impact on the environment. In addition, it can reduce affects from global warming as there is decline in deforestation.

In conclusion, the increasing use of the internet to reading news is undoubtedly a positive development. This improves communication of people during critical situations. Besides, this will lead to sustainable trend from low demand of tree, which will reduce impact from global warming.