Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer.

It is widely believed that individuals’ choice of hobbies is highly influenced by temporary trends and fashions rather than genuine interest. While I acknowledge that trends can shape people’ opinion about certain activities, I believe that personal passion is the driving force.

On the one hand, trends and fashions play a crucial role in influencing individuals’ choice of hobbies or activities, particularly among young generations. This phenomenon is highly common among children and teenagers, who often follow almost everything that is popular on social media and within their peer groups. For example, many teenagers try to imitate social personalities by wearing make-up or aspiring to become social media influencers even if they are not genuinely interested in these kinds of activities. As a result, they feel more accepted among their peers or appear ”cool” or fashionable among their friends. However, trends are temporary and changing every year, so it is very difficult to maintain in this trendy appearance forever.

On the other hand, personal interests are more important in choosing hobbies and activities. Unlike trends, that lose popularity over time, people are more likely to chose hobbies based on personal preference, and activity that they truly like to engage themselves. For instance, there are hobbies in fields of music, art, and sports which tend to give them the sense of fulfillment and enjoyment. Consequently, hobbies that exist for a long time tend to be more sustainable and meaningful. Therefore, it does not mean that interest only is the main determent in how people choose to spend their spare time.

In conclusion, hobbies are usually chosen based on personal authentic desires.