Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Public libraries served people since the nineteenth century providing them access to knowledge. In the twenty-first century, computer technology started to overtake that duty, and claims arose that maintaining the libraries is just a waste of money. I disagree with these statements.

To begin with, public libraries were the temples of knowledge for centuries. Many visitors borrowed books there to study or to read some entertaining fiction every day. However, the number of people who come to these temples dramatically decreased during the last fifteen years. It turned that information became more accessible with the internet. Nonetheless, it does not mean the community libraries are the waste of public resourses. There are still many people who cannot access all that information stored in the world wide web because their resources are too limited to buy a device for this purpose. Public libraries should be transformed and packed with computers, media centers, and other modern developments so they can use computer technology to continue serving for those people.

In addition, public libraries were also bases for different gatherings, free lectures, and other events. These function cannot be replaced by information technology as people still need to meet in person. Also, after being staffed with modern devices, community libraries will involve more people in coming there as they will become a better platform for different initiatives. For example, in my own Vinnytsia city in Ukraine, the city goverment modernized our central public library by staffing it with new developments and involving local communities to make it a base for educational trainings. As a result, the number of visitors tripled.

In conclusion, public libraries are still can serve people like they did for a long time. They should be reorganized and modernized so the places will not compete with computer technology, but they will use them.