Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that running public libraries is not liable because soft screens can take their role. In my opinion these places have their seperate value & there would always be certain kind of people who prefer hard copies rather than soft version of reading literatures. An argument in favor of computer technologies and a counter argument along with conclusion is discussed in detail in this essay.

Few year ago, libraries were consider as source of knowledge and people used to schedule their time to come at these places. After the boom of internet in 2000s, facts suggest that attendents of books stores have been significantly decreased. The world has become fast and people often lack time. Therefore they prefer to get information online while laying down on their couch. Hence government should invest on online service which gives easy access to information rather than investing in a place where people have to go.

On the other hand, there is group of individuals who prefer to dress well and go to library for either study their courses or read a book they love. Over the years, Multiple studies have been conducted on physical existance of things and it suggest that it can never be substituted. I completely agree with this fact, throughout my whole bachelors degree program I used to read printed books and notes even though they were available on university portal. Secondly, you can not rely on online resource, there are certain examples available from the past when one of the main server of a big tech company crashed and it’s all data was lost. All these reasons make library an important place in the society.

In conclusion, it can be said that, world is changing so does the people but the importance of libraries can not neglected and I strongly disagree to consider public libraries as waste of money.