Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer.

Over the last few decades, the modern lifestyle has influenced most people to alter their hobbies, which are not based on their inclinations. Therefore, trends and fashions are replacing interests, what individuals really want to do in their free time.

On the one hand, technological breakthroughs have led a majority number of people to introduce new trends by them. Predominantly, followers of social media are spreading quickly the news about fashion and trends. For example, in recent years, activities such as logging, streaming, gaming, and digital art have gained popularity due to the rise of social media and other platforms. Similarly, in the past, collecting stamps or some kinds of collections were famous hobbies, but these trends are not well known today. It’s a view that this demonstrates the modern lifestyle.

On the other hand, for some people, inclinations hold their importance. In addition to this point, interests such as reading, painting, listening, and playing musical instruments are still common around the world. Despite the changing trends, these hobbies never lose their significance if people really want to do them in their free time. It is evident that, personal passion often outweighs trends.

In conclusion, while trends and fashion influence hobbies to change, maybe most individuals inspired by trends but natural inclinations will never vacate their place for modern trends.