Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer.

Nowadays, everything is socially driven. From what we eat to what we watch and moreover, what people are doing in their leisure time.

Surely, every little trend or mainstream is taken into account by constantly consuming audience, even when things aren’t that favourable to them.

As far as I can tell, each and every thing we do regularly must have a reason behind it. Me, for instance, do journaling every day because I want to improve my writing skills. My mum exercises three times a week to relax and get out of their system after a long working day. In fact, some habits cannot be grounded by the undeniable reasons. My family often watch too much Netflix and eat sweets, whereas, others might smoke, even though they are aware of the terrible effect it has. This is exactly what social propaganda does to our minds. TV shows, music, commercials, they are all designed to provoke some emotions inside of us, which will lead to building horrible habits. Often times people are not even realising what they are feeding their brains with, it just gets to our unconscious mind, before It reaches the main one and then affects our life. Consequently, things we do, hobbies we take up , it is all a reflection of what we consume on a daily basis.

Moreover, people rarely have strong beliefs and boundaries. They are believing that something is splendid and fun to do, until seeing a comment of random person online saying it is unhealthy and disruptive. Most likely, they will question that activity and might end up quitting completely, even if it was the thing of their life. This is the common case in today’s society when people are not willing to take their beliefs seriously. Therefore, the chance of choosing something they really enjoy over the mainstream is significantly lower. For the record, I was like that too. Some years ago I took up dancing and started to make a little progress with it, while also deeply enjoying it in my soul. Although things were great, my cousin took up talking to me about how immature this hobby was and I should start focusing on some other things. Unfortunately, I did and set aside my great goals of becoming a world class dancer. It was real, and nowadays numerous people are struggling with that.

In conclusion, the idea of following trendy path over your real one is all over the place. More and more the opinions of others are taken into account rather than keeping focus on the own ones. It raises a debatable question of relevance of self esteem and straight beliefs. Human beings should definitely point out what they are feeding their brains with and consider the new being, where they would be free to do whatever they are enjoying to do without judgement or propaganda.