Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion

It is often argued that everybody should read merely those books that are based on true events, real people and proven facts. However, I totally disagree with this opinion and believe that people should read fiction books as well as non-fiction ones.

To begin with, fiction is known as compelling narrative work with diversity in genres such as fantasy, romance, mystery and others. Therefore, reading fiction books helps to develop creativity and critical thinking by giving space for your imagination. By imagining and visualizing the story of a novel, you not only encourage yourself to explore new ideas, respectives and possibilities, but also enhance your cognitive functions. Consequently, fiction books can be a great option for developing a flexible and imaginative mind, making it easier to keep your brain sharp.

Moreover, reading fiction reduces stress and can positively affect mental health by bringing mood up. It seems to an effective way of relieving stress, because diving into captivating story can help people to escape reality and forget about their worries. For instance, my friend tends to get stressed and anxiety easily because of depressing seasons or gray weather. Because fall is associated with depression time and gray weather. That is why, she prefers reading fiction literature rather than historical books. It has become one of her therapy to get rid of her concerns and relax after a hard day. Her favorite books are “Harry Potter” book series with unbelievable magic universe, lots of wizards and interesting plot twists that she reads every fall.

To sum it up, although reading autobiographies and documentaries provide factual knowledge in different areas, reading fantasy can stimulate your brain cells to work and support your emotional stability.