Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before?

In today’s digital era, there is a prevalence of advanced technology. Some are of the opinion that technology offers utilizers more time to wind down. From my perspective, I am opposed of this point of view as technology in reality make people become busier than the former decades.

To begin with, high-tech devices, entailing hand-on laptops and smartphones instigate the blurred boundary between work and personal life. In the past, just offices’ blocks were equipped with technological devices that assist humans’ work; hence, when people leave their offices, they immediately switched off their working mode as their home do not have devices to perform tasks. However, with the technological advancement nowadays, individuals tend to work out of hours since their houses have cutting-edge devices and tools enabling them to tackle their work. People in this era have to bring backlog from their offices to their homes to accomplish, leading to the blurred limitations between work and personal life due to the fact that individuals still continue to address their remain work. Inevitably, this phenomenon raises a spectrum of both physical and mental health concerns regarding lethargy, agitation and depression as they have to be busier than ever.

Additionally, some may contend that high-tech tools and utilities encompassing cleaning robots, dishwashing machines and the like would assist humans in performing mundane tasks like household chores, offering more free time. Nevertheless, these cutting-edge devices are not affordable for everyone; therefore, people with financial limitations do not have economic abilities to purchase and utilize these functions. For this reason, modern technology is only advantageous for ones without financial burdens and others with tight budgets are still busy with both their workload and tedious household tasks.

To recapitulate, I disagree with the statement contending that technology gives people more free time because it blurs the barrier between one’s work and personal life and advanced devices are too expensive for those who have limited budgets.