Do you think evaluation of teacher's performance by students is good method.

In the pursuit of better academic results, keeping a check on teaching of teachers has a commonplace in educational institutions. But there is an ongoing debate on allowing students to give feedback to teacher’s performance. Advocates find it an effective strategy to improve the students the performance. However, I believe that this may has various repercussions.

Admittedly, evaluation does not mean to point out the flaws, rather it means to give valuable feedback for the better improvements which is only possible by a superior who has the vast knowledge in that particular subject. But students in their learning period cannot do this. otherwise their main focus on the studies may deviate. Additionally, the feedback of students may be based on the different factors which are unrelated to the teaching style such as they can serve their personal grudges if they do not like that subject or teacher. Thus, this negative feedback can discourage the teacher to take classes.

In continuation, this may pressurize the teachers to appease students instead of focusing on their curriculum. Due to which they may change their way of teaching frequently just to be liked by students. As their might be the chances teachers also give easy assignments or set easy exam just to get the positive feedback. Thus, it may prove disadvantageous.

In conclusion, although evaluation of teacher’s performance is essential to get better results, it is the responsibility of the school management as students are not meant to testing their teachers.