Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

Exercising on a daily basis brings forth many benefits for the body. It improves the body’s structure by making it work periodically. Subsequently, it also increases metabolism and keeps the internal system active. According to numerous studies, performing exercise has also led to a massive decrease in the possibility of several diseases, majorly being cardiac and respiratory failures. For many, it is an activity which relieves stress, which is one of the reasons why doctors recommend it to everyone. The elderly are recommended to exercise on a surplus basis as they are more prone to issues related to the human body. However, they tend to not exercise enough, which can be accounted for by several reasons.

As people grow older, several factors tend to affect their way of living: the deterioration of health due to old age, tiredness, laziness and the inability to function as they once did in their youth. These factors severely affect how people live their lives and their will to maintain their health and exercise daily. Many elderly also do not understand the importance of regular exercise, addressing the lack of motivation.

Another major factor to take into account could be lack of motivation and energy. With the increasing number of children leaving home and ending contact, many families tend to break apart, leading to lack of motivation in the elderly to continue with their daily lives. For instance, in a number of families in the United States, the elderly live alone and tend to feel a lack of sense of belonging, decreasing their motivation to maintain their health and exercise.

Quite a number of these reasons can be mitigated without much effort. However, the part of the young generation is crucial in doing so. By the younger generation simply supporting the older people in exercising activities, it would ignite a spark of motivation to exercise. Through constant engagement with them and assisting those who are simply unable to do it on their own, it would give them that gentle push to make them think of their health and exercise regularly. For example, going on a morning or evening walk with the elderly would make them look forward to exercising when with someone. Encouraging the elderly and telling them the importance of exercise would allow them to remain more healthy and fit.

In summation, it is the role of us, the youths, to encourage the older generation to exercise regularly to maintain their health. This would provide a better life for us both, the younger and the older generation.