Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about how to improve their health. Do you agree with this?

Doctors should take responsibility for their patients education on how to improve their health. While I believe doctors play an important role on the health of their patient, I also believe the patient plays a much larger role.

With regards to individuals, the impact that a doctor has on their patient’s well being is quite substantial. Firstly, doctors are medical professionals which means they are sufficiently trained and will mostly give correct advice and education, giving us valuable insight on how to improve our health. Secondly, doctors also have prior experiences on how to tackle certain health problems and knows how to improve certain parts of their patient’s health.

On the other hand, doctors have a busy schedule and may also have other responsibilities. Which means, that not every doctor could give advice on how to improve the health of their patients, as the knowledge and research to do so, takes significant time and resources. Doctors already has many responsibilities to begin with, and adding more to the list, only increases the risk of malpractice. Furthermore, some doctor may also not have the prior knowledge and experience to their patient’s problems, leading to a misleading or maybe even dangerous advice. Therefore, as a patient, we must be able to look through different sources and consult to different doctors to know which path we must take to our better well being.

In conclusion, although doctors are the person we trust about our health. We must also take responsibility by doing our own research and frequently consulting with our own doctors for the improvement of our health.