Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

There is a view that engaging in hands-on activities with children fosters far more advantageous abilities and more creativity in comparison to reading. While the former offers many merits, I believe that the latter one is the most beneficial.

On the one hand, there are plethora plausible reasons why reading is significantly important to young people. First and foremost, not only reading enables children to think outside of the box, but also allows them to imagine and visualize certain things without any restrictions. That is to say, when children read fairy tales or fantasy books, they expose themselves to various situations, thus it creates an artificial environment to experience diverse occasions. Moreover, it is evident that regular reading activities will enhance children’s vocabulary since they encounter a wide range of words, which they otherwise might not be familiar with. Given this circumstance, it is highly likely that their comprehension will be developed significantly.

On the other hand, proponents of the idea of acquisition of first-hand experience of a child with adults point out some of the positive effects associated with it. The main reason is that if children work with adult people, they will attempt to imitate or emulate their speeches or communication patterns, thereby improving their verbal skills, which are extremely useful in real-life situations. Additionally, as long as children and adults share the tasks while doing an enjoyable activity together, they can learn how to work efficiently in a team and take different opinions into consideration, making them better team members in the future as well as creative ones.

In conclusion, I acknowledge the positive influences of engaging in entertaining activities including the enhancement of communication skills and working in a team, however, I agree that unrestrictive imagination and broad vocabulary that reading has to offer is more valuable.