During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

It is becoming more and more common to see the younger generation staying indoors during holidays and weekends instead of enjoying the outdoors and what nature has to offer. This essay believes this phenomenon can be attributed to the highly addicting games and streaming services and can be addressed by leveraging influencers to promote the outdoors.

One of the main reasons for people to remain inside the premises of their homes is the games, movies, and shows on their electronic devices. The entertainment is designed to be eye-catching and provide instant gratification to draw people back, wanting more. For example, Netflix, one of the world’s biggest streaming giants, designed their platform with bright and bold colors that would certainly anyone’s attention. Moreover, as soon as you finish a movie or show, it immediately recommends something new and appealing to keep you hooked. Thus, spending hours on these platforms is not difficult.

Be that as it may, there are still ways to motivate people to go outside. Leveraging the influence of celebrities and influential people can be a great solution. With their influence, these public figures can encourage their fans to participate in challenges that involve being in nature. Take David Goggins for example, a former Navy Seal and marathon runner who has been actively participating in ultra-marathon for the past ten years. Of those ten years, he made videos and held live streams of himself running, motivating many to start running and doing marathons as well.

In conclusion, games, movies, and TV shows can be a big distraction keeping young people indoors but the influence of public figures can inspire them to go outside and embrace nature.