During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

It is widely acknowledged that during some particular times such as holidays and weekends, the amount of time that youngsters engage in outdoor activities in nature like hiking and mountain climbing has decreased. This essay is going to evaluate some reasons and figure out some motivations to improve that situation.

In terms of reasons contributing to the situation, first and foremost, it is the wide access to technologically recreational devices that prevent the young from enrolling in outdoor activities. With the development of technology, almost all young people nowadays possess at least one electronic device such as a smartphone or laptop. Those provide people with a variety of entertaining content and measures that are widely available and suitable for typical interests. The young, therefore, can switch to entertainment whenever with unlimited convenience. Moreover, financial barrier is also considered a vital impact on that tendency. It is tangible that taking part in outdoor activities like trekking and mountain climbing requires a financial preparation for various costs involved like transportation and safety gears, which would be an obstacle for youngsters depending on their parents and living on a tight budget.

However, there are some possible methods to encourage young people to participate in more outdoor activities. Governments and organizations might take advantage of social platforms to launch campaigns that raise awareness of the importance of physical activities in outdoor areas. Public running tournaments strike as an outstanding example because they attract a huge number of the young in particular and people in general. Besides that, another potential solution for this situation would be to reduce barriers to these activities by bringing travel assistance and guided tours.

In conclusion, when it comes to youngsters spending less time on outdoor activities, with reasons about availability of other recreational devices and financial issue, the situation can be improved by public campaigns and the upgradation of relating experiences.