Each year the crime rate increases. What are the causes and what could be done about it?

As early as the configuration of early societies, mankind was bewildered by crime and has endeavored towards its cessation, never yet triumphed. Nevertheless, the crusade of humanity against crime continues. Nowadays, with developments occurring in every single branch of technology, we are to ask ourselves about the reason that we do not see developments as such in controlling crime rates. So it is to us to delve into the phenomena causing crime in societies. This essay tries to shade light upon two possible contributing reasons: economic and cultural, and propose remedies for each.

Let’s begin by an appraisal of economic factors. Based on the numerous conducted surveys, there is no doubt that poverty is one of the elements which correlates with crime rate. There are many interpretations on the specific ways that economic status affects crime. One of them is that the sense of deprivation in an individual gears them towards satisfying their needs through abnormal and unethical activities, known to us as crime. Thus it can be deduced that while the technology in our societies thrives, it has not been able to affect the poverty rates, being a key factor attributed to crime. Addressing this facet of crime, then, requires a kind of economic and technologic development that can reach the lower economic layers of societies. In other words, capital and technology must be distributed fairly within societies. For instance, the government can support the lower class with supporting social programs.

The cultural aspect, however, is much more complex. Where does one’s conscience go where they are committing crime? This aspect is widely disputed between the scholars of social sciences and psychology. One explication consists in the absence of God in our modern world. If a human does not feel some eternal entity as a watcher, they may feel free to commit acts which they would not do otherwise. It can be concluded that if the crime rate is to reduced, God has to return to our society. One way to tackle this part of the problem for the government and the people to support religious institutes and their activities. The stronger Gods presence is felt, the lower can the crime rate fall.

All being said, there are still many other issues which bring crime about our lives. Much more studies have to be done regarding this subject. Meanwhile, it is safe to adhere to our believes and common sense to stop rates from going further up. Alleviating poverty and giving new life to religion may not necessarily lead to a decrement in crime, but will prove positive per se.