Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is more important than others?

While most of the time, the development of a country is mainly assessed by its economic growth, many people think there are other factors that are of more significance. In this essay, I will argue that the national identity and the living conditions of citizens are also worth considering when discussing the success of a country, and explain why I believe that people’s happiness is the most essential factor.

For a country, it is extremely important to be aware of its image in the eyes of international friends. That image is built up by many factors, including costumes, cuisine, and cultural or historical values. All these things create a unique impression on that country for people in other nations, facilitating the connections and relationships with those countries. This allows the country to participate in the global network, thus giving it the chance to develop with plenty of support coming from outside the country.

More importantly, the development of a country cannot be fully presented without mentioning the life quality of people living in that country. Actually, this is the first criterion that has to be taken into account when measuring a country’s success. This is because a great living condition is the primary motivation for people to pay back to their countries, by working at the highest productivity and wholeheartedly supporting the government. Under those fundamental foundations, the country is likely to develop in the most sustainable way possible.

In conclusion, instead of just focusing on the economics, people should also take into account the appearance of a country in people’s minds and the satisfaction of its citizens with their lives when evaluating its success.