Education would be more effective if it was optional. Do you agree?

There is a constant argument about the fact that education should be optional. Some people say that education is significant for becoming a grown up person. Others say that it is an enormous waste of time. So what impact would it make? If those who don’t want to study were able to make their wish come true? How would it affect the efficiency of education?

One major advantage of optional education is that there would be fewer students studying at school. That would increase the amount of time that a teacher can spend on each student during the lesson. It could definitely increase the efficiency of education. What is more, a reduced number of students at school also means extended government expenditure for each student. It will definitely improve the quality of educational process.

However, there are lots of disadvantages of this system. Firstly, there would be a lot of illiterate people. They wouldn’t be able to find a well-paid job due to the lack of academic knowledge. Secondly, there is a minority of children who can tell if they want to study or not this statement disarranges the entire system because there would be a numerous amount of people who would realise that they have made a mistake.

As it was stated before, making education optional would seriously affect its effectiveness. On the one hand, there would be a lot of well-trained specialists. They would have lots of opportunities to start their future career, but on the other, those who chose not to study further might get unemployed.