Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that making good relationships with colleagues is not crucial, as the main motive of every employee is to focus on work. This essay strongly agrees with this view because establishing good connections in the workplace might lower individuals’ performance, and focusing on work often enhances the chance of getting promotions.

To begin with, fostering positive attitude at work often results in poor performance because it requires both time and efforts. When an employee trys to establish good connections with others, they need to spend some of their working hours solving others’ problems, which ultimately lowers their own performance. Although this approach helps others complete their tasks effectively, it often diminishes self-productivity. For instance, many introvert people often struggle to finish their tasks by the evening, because they always hesitate to refuse others’ requests at work. Therefore, helping others to make good relationships in the workplace could be detrimental to individuals’ own career.

Moreover, people should focus on their work for a faster career progression. If an employee prioritizes work over making good relationships at workplace, they are likely to give maximum output every day, making them more productive and efficient than others. After a certain period of time, this would grab their managers’ attention, which will help them achieve trust and get faster promotions. One clear example of this can be seen in many private organizations, which offer promotions based on their workers’ performance rather than asking their colleagues about their behaviour. This highlights the importance of a work-oriented approach for career progression.

In conclusion, instead of trying to make good connections in the workplace, people should prioritize their work to become more productive and trustworthy, which ultimately help them get promotions on time.