Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal?

In this ever-changing world, euthanasia has become a subject of broad interest. Some people argue that this practice should be legitimate; while others suggest that it is a form of murders under the guise of mercy killing. In my opinion, I believe that this method should be legalized, and in this essay, my reasons will be discussed.

To start with, a noticeable merit of this method is relieving financial and emotional burdens. This is because in several cases with minuscule hope for recovery, the patients’ families are required to sacrifice their time and money to attain the demands from the hospitals and treatments’ costs, which often soar beyond their means. For instance, in the USA, insurance can price people off with the maintenance fee reaching up to $20.000 per year. A handful of heralded consequences of this phenomenon are mental problems, family conflicts, and the suppression of negative feelings.

Another reason is it belongs to human rights. Individuals have full consent to choose a dignified end with their nearest and dearest people, rather than being suffered from intractable injuries and unbearable pain. Taking medical measures without a positive result can result in the situation where these victims cycle in and out of excruciating pain and it creates a sense of hopelessness. Euthanasia is extremely prevalent among animals; however, it is perceived as unethical when it comes to us. This is a paradox because we treat our pets more merciful than what we did to our fellow men. Take Netherlands as a compelling example. This country, where mercy killing is acceptable, is ranked sixth in terms of happiness. Furthermore, their healthcare system is mandated properly to mitigate fatal risks. This technique should be considered by the governments to reduce underground activities and enhance the general health of their dwellers.

In conclusion, even though people are the main detriment of euthanasia, this strategy should be supported to free people from prolonged pain and financial strain. Humans are eligible to decide their own fate.