Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal?

These days, television channels, newspapers, and journals are full of coverage about euthanasia, as it has become a matter of widespread debate. As for me, the increasing claim for legalising it it is not appropriate because it goes against ethical values.

First and foremost, there are great chances of its misuse. Good death should be practiced only if the patient’s disease is incurable with no pain alleviation, and no any possibility to turn them back as normal. For instance, if a person is suffering from cancer that can’t be cured, which is making it arduous for them because of the suffering, then, with his or her consent, mercy killing can be proceeded. Nevertheless, in case of legalization, it shouldn’t be promoted.

The doctors may ignore their responsibility for terminally ill person. In this scenario, there is a higher possibility of avoiding their duty for impoverished and weaker people. The family members can fake a document for physician-assisted suicide in case of inheritance. Numerous window of opportunity will open for medical practitioners to mishandle it for purpose of organ trafficking. Due to unstable and poor economical condition, the household members will be compelled for mercy killing. The dispute between the members of family and patient will encourage for euthanasia in form of revenge. This will end the person’s life along with his or her dreams and hopes. The permission to perform it is not taken by the sick one. In most of the cases, family or relatives provide them the allowance in which the patient’s will is not taken in preference.

To wrap up, some are fine with it while some are not. As it opposes the ethics for its legitimization, it is not in my book. I strongly disagree until the solutions for those problems aren’t discovered and implemented strictly.