Rivers, lakes, and oceans are becoming increasingly polluted. What are the causes of the water pollution, and how does it affect marine life and humans?

Nowadays, the world is facing more and more environmental challenges. One of the most pressing issues has become water contamination. There are several reasons why rivers and oceans are being damaged by human activities, and this issue brings about some negative impacts on the environment and people’s health.

There are some possible causes of water pollution can be recognized. One of the major factors could be industrial waste. It is undeniable fact that factories dispose of waste by dumping into water bodies and keep emitting toxic substances. However, it is the cheapest and easiest method of disposal. Another reason is that radioactive substances are responsible for polluting water bodies. For instance, human activities such as uranium mining or testing of nuclear weapons can drastically affect marine life. It is also should be mentioned that radioactivity sustain in the oceans for a prolonged period of time.

The consequences of this issue could be dangerous. First of all, water contamination puts marine wildlife under threat. It is exemplified by the fact that many sea creatures would die because of polluted habitat which can lead to extinction of sea species immediately. Furthermore, more than 2 billion people are forced to drink contaminated water every day and as a result it gives rise to serious diseases and some of them lead to death. In addition, if potable water contains heavy metals like mercury which caused by water pollution, it will set off heart diseases.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why water bodies such as rivers and lakes are contaminated and this tendency can result in significant negative impacts on the human’s health and marine wild life.