Do you think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison?

In this essay, why shouldn’t all lawbreakers be sent to prison will be briefly discussed. Explaining why people differ in their actions as well as providing various examples and clarifications on whether lawbreakers should go to prison. Personal opinion regarding this issue will also be included.

The vast majority believe that lawbreakers should be sent to prison because of their criminal actions, such as robbing banks, stealing from jewelry stores, damaging infrastructure, and causing chaos in residential areas. That is a good reason for why they should be imprisoned. Especially, individuals involved in domestic violence should encounter harsher consequences than prison. However, those who collaborate with lawbreakers will be also called to testify and be questioned along with lawbreakers in court.

On the other hand, some oppose the idea of sending lawbreakers to prison. For example, shoplifting from stores in malls shouldn’t result in prison; instead, they should be punished through community service, cleaning, assisting customers, and similar actions. Moreover, minor violations such as speeding or reckless driving in crowded streets can lead to serious consequences. Therefore, lawbreakers should pay fines or face temporary or, in some cases, permanent license suspensions.

Personally, I believe that not all lawbreakers should be sent to prison. Those who break minor laws shouldn’t always be held responsible in the same way. Governments should strictly enforce laws and regulations to protect public safety and well-being.

To sum up, some suggest that not all lawbreakers should be in prisoned for their criminal effences, while others, prefer engaging them in working for the community to rehabilitate them instead of sending them to prison.